original 1966 text is displayed in Courier font
additional text is displayed in Times
YEAR HISTORY 1915-1966
COMPILED AND EDITED
FRED D. ADAMS
NEW PUBLICATION JANUARY, 1977
The purpose of this review
is to acquaint each member of the Waterloo Rotary Club with the background
of the men who joined in 1915 and during the period following for the next
25 years and longer. What has been accomplished has not been because of the
action of any one man or a small group of men. The spirit of Rotary, which
has been the development of acquaintance and an opportunity for service, has
played an important role in the progress and development of Waterloo-Cedar
Falls and Black
If the members of the Waterloo Club become better acquainted with each other
and if they know more about each other’s business— where it is located, and
the number of people employed, and under what circumstances the business had
its beginning, its growth through the years, and its anticipated future development—then
we shall most of all feel more friendly toward one another, which, in itself,
would make Rotary much more worthwhile.
This was one of the reasons why Paul Harris, the founder of Rotary International,
gathered together a small group of businessmen in lines of business other
than his own—so that they could become better acquainted. He coined the name
“ROTARY CLUB” which, to him, meant “to rotate” and become better acquainted.
If this thought can be carried out by every member of the Waterloo Rotary
Club, the question of better attendance and more interest in our programs
will automatically take care of itself. This is why an attempt has been made
to cover every classification in the Waterloo Rotary Club in one way or another.
Our slogan should be “Know your Fellow Rotarians Better.”
Fortunately a 1918 Copy of the photographic roster of the Waterloo Rotary
Club now makes possible the publication of the pictures of the ten charter
members which have now been added.
Bruce Gates and Fred Adams joined the Club in May 1915 along with 25
or 30 other candidates. Another group of 30 or 40 joined in September 1915.
It is also most interesting to note the continued progress and growth of John
Deere Waterloo Tractor Works. The Waterloo Rotary Club is justifiably proud
to number so many of the top personnel of this fine industry among our members,
See John Deere special up-to-date facts as of February, 1977.
Also included in this new edition is a condensed summary of the Presidents
and officers of the Club starting July 1, 1966 thru December 31, 1976. Further
comments and comparisons of the growth of Rotary International by Secretary
Herb Palmer brings us up to date. See World Wide Statistics, Foundation Milestone,
Salute to Rath Packing Company, Growth and Process
Courier, Update Dairy Cattle Congress.
HISTORICAL REVIEW 1915 -
PART I — HISTORICAL
Waterloo Rotary Gets Its Charter
Early Day Rotarians
Dairy Cattle Congress
Our Public Utilities
Y.M.C.A. & Y.W.C.A.
Chamber of Commerce
Museum of History & Science
Railroad and Truck Transportation
The Construction Industry
Education and Schools
Biographical Sketches of Past Presidents
PART II — GROWTH AND EXPANSION
Wholesalers, Retailers, Brokers, Advertising, Warehousing
An Industrial Infant Grows Up
(Our Fast Growing Manufacturing Plants)
Our Municipal Airport and Facilities, Niederhauser
Three Fine Hospitals
The Services - Classified
Parks, Recreation, and Sports
Radio, TV, Public Buildings
Agriculture, Civic Affairs, and WIDA
MISCELLANY AND CONCLUSION
Politics In Rotary
Rotary and Industry
Where Do We Go From Here?
Classified Rotarians, July 1, 1966
Population Comparison 1915 and 1966
UP-DATE 1966 -1976
Past President, 1966 -
classified Rotarians March 1, 1977
WATERLOO ROTARY CLUB GETS ITS CHARTER
APRIL 16, 1915
Paul Harris, who organized the first Rotary Club in Chicago
on February 23, 1905, was born in Wisconsin
in 1868. His parents moved to Wallingford,
Vermont, when he was 4 yrs. old.
He learned his three R’s in the red brick building, constructed in 1818, which
was dedicated as the Paul
Building on May 30, 1966.
The unveiling of the Historical Sites Marker was attended by nine District
Governors-Elect and their wives from across the seas. Districts represented
were from Scotland,
So. Africa, Finland,Sweden, England, Australia,
West Germany (2) &
David Brcen, Governor of District 787 from Windsor, Vt.,
presented flags from the Windsor Club. Rotarian Philip H. Hoff, Governor the
State of Vermont,
gave the dedicatory address. Frank E. Adams, Chester,
Vt. (brother of F.D.A.) sent clipping from
Daily Herald of May 31, 1966 with above news story and pictures. The Paul
P. Harris award by Rotary International has been made to the Wallingford, Vt.
Rotary Club for initiating this most significant service project in 1965-1966.
This award was made on June 30, 1966. The Wallingford Club, with only 23 members,
sponsored this worthwhile program at a cost of more than $4,000.00.
It is now a matter of record that Rotary International, with headquarters
in Evanston, Illinois,
has recently expanded its office space to 77,500 square feet. It has 214 employees
serving 12,300 clubs in 131 nations in the world, with a total of 589,000
members. Since 1954, when International Headquarters opened its 3-story building
the number of Rotary Clubs has increased by 48 per cent and the number of
Rotarians throughout the world has increased by 50 percent.
The Waterloo Rotary Club received its charter, No- 168, on April 16, 1915
with 10 charter members as follows:
Fred L. Northey
Charles V. Simmons Ralph
Almon F. Gates
George W. Huntley Fred
W. J. Peddicord
John W Rath
George E. Lichty
See additional comment in the latter part of 1977 review with photos
of charter members.
Since this review is for the historical records of the Waterloo
Rotary Club, it seems advisable to quote the six objects of Rotary International
which were adopted and were in effect in 1915. They were as follows:
1. To promote the recognition of the worthiness of all legitimate occupations
and to dignify the occupation of each member as affording him an opportunity
to serve society.
2. To encourage high ethical standards in business and professions.
3. To increase the efficiency of each member by the development of improved
ideas and business methods.
4. To stimulate the desire of each member to be of service to his fellow men
and society in general.
5. To promote the scientizing of acquaintance as
an opportunity for service and an aid to success.
6. To quicken the interest of each member in the public welfare of his community
and to cooperate with others in its civic, social, commercial and industrial
In the closing paragraphs of this treatise, the objects of Rotary as suggested
by the headquarters office in Evanston
will also be quoted verbatim as they are recommended in 1966. The comparison
will be interesting.
It is the opinion of the writer that the objects of Rotary—both 1915 and 1966
versions— have created an image and an upgrading of high ethical standards
among business and professional men throughout the world. If the Waterloo
Rotary Club can be used as
a yardstick in this Black
community of 135,000 population, it is entirely possible that Rotary International
has had even more favorable results on a world-wide basis. Likewise, the growth
of many of our sister service clubs is further proof of the fact that many
of them, Kiwanis, Lions, Exchange, Sertoma, and
Optimist, have also created a better atmosphere of fellowship and higher ethical
standards in business and the professions throughout the world.
“ON THE MOVE”
At the turn of the century, the growth of Waterloo was greatly accelerated by the development
of several progressive wholesale distributor organizations as well as a number
of manufacturing plants.
Rotarian George B. Lichty, who was a charter member
of the Waterloo Rotary Club, was a community builder and an organizer. He
sponsored and developed many wholesale distributing firms and several manufacturing
concerns. Waterloo was soon recognized as the
leading wholesale distributing center of Northern Iowa.
Some of these firms were: Smith, Lichty & Hillman
Company--wholesale grocers; Black Hawk Coffee and Spice Company; Waterloo
Saddlery Company; Adams Paper Company; Northey Manufacturing Company; Waterloo Canning Company; Waterloo
Skirt and Garment Company; Construction Machinery Co.. He was a heavy stockholder
in Walnut Realty Company which corporation built the Walnut Court Apartments.
This building is still Iowa’s
largest apartment house with 118 units. George E. was not only interested
financially in these organizations, but he was also an officer and a director
in many of them. His three sons, Ben R., Burr G., and Robert J., were also
members of the Waterloo Rotary Club. Burr G. Lichty
was in one of Woodrow Wilson’s
classes at Princeton
University in the early
1900’s. In World War I., Herbert Hoover called George E. to Washington and appointed him National Food
Administrator at the retailers’ level. Fred L. Northey,
also a charter member, was a son-in-law of George E. Fred was the first President of the Waterloo
Club and later was elected District Governor.
William Galloway came to town and soon became nationally recognized as one
largest mail order institutions manufacturing farm implements. Galloway, who
was a fine looking man, tall and good natured, always optimistic and with
a radiant smile, appeared at County and State Fairs throughout the country
serving free watermelon to thousands of people. He wore a ten-gallon hat and
his slogan in all national advertising showing his picture carving a melon,
was, “Bill Galloway of Waterloo
divides the melon with you.” Bill was an ardent member of the Waterloo Rotary
Club for many years.
Wilbur Marsh established the Iowa Dairy Separator Plant in 1902 and employed
several hundreds of people within a short time, turning out cream separators
for Sears Roebuck. He was a member of the Waterloo Rotary Club from 1916 until
he passed away on December 22, 1929.
The Cass Brothers, L. S., J. F., and C. D., organized the Waterloo-Cedar Falls
& Northern Railway in the early 1900’s with interurban service to Cedar Falls, Waverly, Cedar Rapids, and intermediate points.. This
institution now operates as the Waterloo Railroad, hauling freight and doing
a switching service for many industrial plants.
All of the above gentlemen started in business before the Waterloo Rotary
Club was organized, but shortly after the Rotary Club received its charter
in 1915, all of them became Rotarians, and they contributed much to the growth
and development of our fair city.
The various subjects covered in the following pages of this review will show
that the influence and guidance of Waterloo Rotarians in all walks of life
have been a strong contributing factor in the growth and development of Waterloo and Black
Since the founding of the Waterloo Rotary Club and other sister service clubs,
we have a far better feeling of fellowship and a more congenial community
ia which to do business and raise our families.
DAIRY CATTLE CONGRESS
Shortly after the Rotary Club was organized, many of the members recognized
the Dairy Show as a most valuable asset to the city of Waterloo. Accordingly, a large percentage of
the members offered their support both actively and financially. The Dairy
Cattle Congress soon became famous nationally under the leadership of Rotarian
Ed Estel. Because of the liberal support given to
this outstanding show by Rotarians, Dairy Cattle Congress soon became known
throughout the dairy industry as the finest show of its kind in the United States.
The Rotarians who supported this institution were as follows:
I W. Rath
William Galloway Roy
Hugh Van Pelt Bill
George W. Huntley Wilbur
George E. Lichty
Wirt Hoxie, Sr..
C. W. Chapman Harold
Allen Head .
Fred D. Adams
Many other Rotarians also contributed their bit, Since the early days of this
fine organization, Rotarians have been prominently identified with its operation
and they have , to
a large extent, been responsible for its success. There has always been a
number of Rotarians on the Board of Directors and many have served as Prcsideat—Rotarian Glenn Miller is now serving in this capacity.
Rotarians on the present Board of Directors are: Glenn Miller, Frank Collord, Louis Kurt, Joe Sage, Don Pullin,
and Mark Humphrey. Maurice Telleen is now Secretary-Manager
and is doing a splendid job in this position of responsibility.
WORLD WAR I BONDS
Members of the Waterloo Rotary Club took a very active part in the
sale of war bonds in 1917-1918. They not only purchased these bonds in large
denominations but they also actively promoted the sale of these bonds through
countless meetings, not only in Waterloo
but in some of the neighboring towns as well.
The booming voices of Hugh Van Pelt, Ben Swisher, Wirt Hoxie, Sr.,
M.L. Bowman, and other Rotarians, were heard all over Black Hawk County.
ROTARY RESERVE—AN ASSET
WE SHOULD CHERISH
Through the untiring efforts of C. A. Morris and
the Board of Directors of our Rotary Club, this 30-acre Reserve, less than
15 miles north of Waterloo,
has one of the finest picnic grounds owned by any Rotary Club in this part
of the country. It was purchased in 1923. “C-A” negotiated an option which
enabled the Waterloo Club to buy this piece of ground at a very reasonable
price. Thru the generosity of many of our members, a club house was built
in the early ‘20’s. Rotarian John G. Miller assumed the responsibility
of constructing this building and many of the Rotarians donated materials
and supplies for its construction so that the original cost was very nominal.
Later on, the picnic grounds were cleared, permanent picnic tables were installed,
large capacity grills were built, and a very substantial home for the caretaker,
who lives on this property the year around, was also constructed. Much of
the material was donated for this building and a large part of the labor was
furnished by club members on a no-charge basis.
These beautiful grounds are available the year around for Club members and
their families. It is also the site of the annual Rotary family picnic. In
1965, more than 500 Rotarians with their families attended. It is said that
a conservative estimate as to the value of the grounds, the lodge, and the
home of the caretaker, is at least $35,000.00 to $40,000.00. It is free of
debt. It should be preserved and used by all members of the Waterloo Rotary.
Once each month, members whose birthdays fall in that month are asked to sit
at a special table, at which time they contribute a minimum of 10 cents or
more for each year of their age. This entitles them to ice cream and cake
for dessert. This money is used for supervising and providing transportation
and lunch for approximately 300 underprivileged children covering a six-to-eight
weeks’ period each year. Bus transportation is furnished daily to transport
these children to and from Rotary Reserve. This has proven to be a worthwhile
Rotary project. Many of these children would not otherwise enjoy the camping
privileges and outing at Rotary Reserve which this program provides.
IOWA PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY
Austin Burt, President of Waterloo Rotary Club
1917-1918, was General Manager of the “Citizens Gas and Electric Company”
from 1912 to 1924. This firm was merged with Iowa Public Service Company and
has operated under this name for approximately 40 years. This fine institution,
which has always been a big asset to the city of Waterloo, has been represented by one or more
members in the Waterloo Rotary Club.
Herbert B. Maynard, who joined in 1915, was a dedicated Rotarian and active
in all club projects for many years. At various times, he served as Secretary
of the Iowa Public Service Co.(1923), President of Midwest Gas Association,
past-President of Iowa State
Association of Elks Clubs, past-President, Waterloo Baseball Club, Honorary
President of Waterloo Visiting Nurses Association, member of Waterloo Technical
Society, the Fortnightly Club, and Christ Episcopal Church. He died on March
23, 1943, at the age of 84.
Howard M. (Had) Smith was 29th President of the Waterloo Club 1943-1944. (See
notes under Part II). “Had” was a most loyal member of the Waterloo Club from
1930 until his retirement from Iowa Public Service Company in 1950.
Iowa Public Service Company’s contribution to the community by the payment
of more than $1,000,000.00 in taxes each year, is a big asset to Waterloo
and Black Hawk County.
It employs 97 people in its downtown office and 187 people in the power plant
and as outside men in the Waterloo
district. The company’s growth and development in Waterloo is far greater than most citizens realize.
Electric and gas rates compare favorably with other public utilities throughout
the Midwest——electricity is about the only commodity that costs substantially
less than it did 10 years ago. Rotarians Bob Ruisch,
Vice-President, and Jim Kirk, Manager, Waterloo Division, now represent Iowa
Public Service Company in the Waterloo Rotary Club. Dell B. Raymond, now a
Vice-President at Sioux City, is a native of Waterloo and was a member of
our club in the 1950’s before moving up to his present position.
This well-known organization has had a fantastic growth in Waterloo since the early
1900’s. First representative in the Waterloo Rotary Club was Clarence Campbell,
who was a District Manager for northeastern Iowa. Associated with him as District Plant
Chief was Rotarian George Bickley. Bickley was later
transferred to Omaha from which place he retired
in 1924 and moved to California.
Clarence Campbell retired in 1940 as District Manager in Waterloo. He was succeeded by Rotarian Russell
Gray who came here from Mason City.
Succeeding Gray was Rotarian Bob Nelson. Paul Vandeventer has been District Manager since 1961 in Waterloo, succeeding Bob
Nelson. Paul joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in October, 1961.
It is interesting to note that, when Clarence Campbell became District Manager
in 1915, the Waterloo Exchange had a total of 6,900 telephones. At that time,
the company had 90 employees on the payroll, 2/3 of which were telephone operators.
This was, of course, before the days of dial phones. By comparison, the Waterloo
Exchange has, as of May 31, 1966, a total of 46,939 telephones in service.
The company now has 410 employees on the payroll but only 1/3 of them are
telephone operators. This, of course is due to the highly mechanized equipment
now being used which has also improved the service.
Another comparison, which, to the writer, was extremely interesting, is that
in 1915 the cost of a 3-minute long distance call from New
York to California
was $20.70. It is now possible
to make a 3-minute call from New York
to California, after 8:00 P.M. or on Sundays, for a charge
of only $1.00
Northwestern Bell is currently completing
an addition to the Waterloo Exchange at a cost of $1,200,000.00. The Black Hawk Co. Treasurer’s Office will be
enriched by approximately $200,000 in taxes for the year of 1965, payable
in 1966. This fast-growing institution is, indeed, a fine asset to Waterloo-Cedar Falls and the Black Hawk Co community.
In the year of 1910, an election was held and the citizens of Waterloo voted favorably on a bond issue to
take over the privately-owned Water Works. Under the leadership and guidance
of Rotarian s Charles T. Wilson and John W.
Rath, members of the initial Board of
Trustees, the Waterloo Water Works grew and prospered, and, through all this
period of 56 years, no additional bond issues have been necessary, and the
original issue was paid off many years ago. Other members of the Waterloo
Rotary Club who have served on the Board of Trustees of the Waterloo Water
Works were Ben Swisher, Fred Adams, and George Cousins. The extension of mains
and the additional pumping equipment and machinery necessary to operate and
take care of the greatly increased demand over the years has all been paid
for out of Water Works earnings.
To begin with, the water supply was from deep wells of approximately 1500
to 1800 feet in depth. During the late ‘20’s and early 30’s, it was discovered
that the Waterloo
area was blessed with an unlimited supply of water which could be obtained
from shallow wells of 85 to 125 feet in depth. Waterloo
not only enjoys one of the finest supplies of water in the country but at
prices which have not changed since the city took over the Water Works in
This fine record may be traced to the fact that, during most of the past 56
years, the Waterloo Water Works Trustees have been under the guidance and
leadership of one or more members of the Waterloo Rotary Club. Rotarian Dick
Young has been a member of this Board since January 12, 1960. Former Rotarian
Glenn A. Tibbitts has been a member of the Board
for the last 20 years. Lions Club member Robert A. Brown is the third member
on the Board of Trustees. He is now serving his second 6-year term, having
first been appointed by Mayor Jochumsen in January,
1958. Bob has proven himself to be a loyal and faithful member of the Board.
Rotarian George E. Shoemaker was General Manager for more than 20 years. He
was followed by Kiwanians Warner J. Lang and Joe Adair. Adair assumed
this position of responsibility in 1960 and under his efficient management
the Waterloo Water Works continues to grow and prosper, while the users are
paying less for water than those in any other city of Iowa.
The finest newspaper in all northern Iowa is one of Waterloo’s
biggest assets. Seldom, if ever, did a newspaper have more humble beginnings
than the Waterloo Daily Courier,
On January 18, 1859, the first issue of The Black Hawk Courier was published,
“Devoted to General News, Agriculture, Science and the Diffusion of Republican
Principles.” The Courier experimented with daily publication for a week, during
the county fair period in the fall of 1878. On December 13, 1890, the newspaper
became a daily permanently.
W. H. Hartman died on July 1, 1895, revered and
loved by thousands of his subscribers. John C. Hartman, who had been reared
in the printshop and newsroom, became editor and
publisher of the Waterloo Courier after his father’s death. In May of 1908,
A. W. Peterson purchased a minority interest in the paper and became secretary
and general manager. In 1914, the Courier purchased the rival Iowa State Reporter.
Under the first ABC audit, the Courier’s circulation was established at 13,197.
On September 26, 1923, General Manager Peterson, who had guided the financial
operations of the paper through this period of growth, died and was succeeded
by his nephew, Jackson McCoy, who had served as his assistant for eleven years.
A new period of expansion began under McCoy’s direction.
In the spring of 1931, the Courier purchased the Waterloo Morning Tribune.
This final consolidation was in accord with the trend toward one-newspaper
cities elsewhere in Iowa
a d the nation. The merger caused the circulation of the Courier to rise from
21,135 in 1930 to 33,766 in 1931. Advertising lineage in 1930 was 6,402,502.
John C. Hartman, who had earned the Iowa Press Association’s “Master Editor”
award, died on January 3, 1941. His nephew, John von Lackum
II, became President of the XV. H. Hartman Company and another nephew, Karl
C. von Lakum, became vice-president. Jackson McCoy,
while retaining the position of general manager, also assumed the title of
Editor and began editorial direction of the paper. The circulation of the
Courier increased in the post-War years to 49,154 in 1950 and advertising
lineage rose to 12,394,284. Jackson McCoy, who had directed the newspaper
through a great depression and a great war and had made it into a prosperous
organ with editorial prestige and public respect, died on June 22, 1952. His
son, Robert J. McCoy, trained by his father in the business, was named editor
and general manager to succeed him.
The younger McCoy inaugurated a new program of expansion to keep pace with
the growing size of the city and the responsibilities of the newspaper. A
major expansion of the building was undertaken in 1958 and completed in 1959.
The expansion involved construction of a third floor for the newsroom on the
present building and the installation of a Goss “anti-friction” press capable
of printing 60,000 64-page papers an hour. The press enables the Courier to
print color photo-engravings.
John von Lackum passed away in 1964, Karl C. von
Lackum becoming president.
The daily circulation of the Courier as of June, 1966 is 54,500. It is delivered
by nearly 800 carrier boys. Employees now number 247, plus a staff of 100
correspondents in northeastern Iowa
Courier executives have been represented in Rotary continuously since 1915.
They are as follows: Arthur W. Peterson, John C. Hartman, Jackson McCoy,
John van Lakum, and Hugh Patterson.
The Courier’s contribution to growth and development in Waterloo
and Black Hawk
County, as well as northeastern Iowa, has been instrumental in helping some of our older
industries to prosper and has played an important part in bringing new industries
to Waterloo and Black Hawk
County. Mrs. Wilda
Workman, librarian at the Courier, very courteously supplied some of the historical
information used in this review, This writer also very much appreciates the
editorial guidance and helpful suggestions of Dave Dentan, assistant Managing Editor of the Courier.
Y.M.C.A. OF BLACK
Sam Chollar, General Secretary, joined the Waterloo
Rotary Club in 1962. Under his guidance, this most worthwhile institution
is making splendid progress. There are now more than 3,000 members belonging
to the main headquarters at Waterloo and the
branch operations at Cedar Falls
and Evansdale. The agency has a professional staff of seven men and additional
staff of 30 people to serve the entire organization. The 1966 budget was $265,000.00.
In the year 1969, the Waterloo Y.M.C.A. will be celebrating its 100th
birthday, having opened for business in 1869. Sam is now setting up a Detached
Worker Operation in the Negro community. A colored secretary has been hired
to develop this program which, in other communities, has proven to be very
helpful in maintaining
harmonious relations with the colored segment of our population. KWWL TV, Channel 7, is now carrying a
daily program from 9 A.M. to 9:30 A.M. Monday through Friday on the
subject of physical fitness. The program is entitled “The Y’s Way to Health.”
It is anticipated that in the not too distant future, this county-wide
organization will be in a position to build an attractive new Y.M.C.A building
in the city of Cedar Falls; likewise, to improve and expand the present building
Among prominent Rotarians who have served as President of the Y.M.C.A. in
years gone by, are the following:
W. Chapman Clyde Allen
William H. Langlas
C. A. Morris
Dr. J. E. Butts
YOUNG WOMEN’S CHRISTIAN
OF BLACK HAWK COUNTY
In the year of 1910, a Provisional Committee was appointed for the purpose
of organizing a Y.W. C.A. in the city of Waterloo.
Members were the following:
Mrs. B. L. Johnson, General Chairman
Mrs. James Black
Mrs. C. M. Woods, Finance Chairman
Mrs. W. Schallenberger
Mrs. H. T. Fisher
Mrs. Anna Hillman
Mrs. B. B. Smith
Mrs. Paul Davis
to qualify, it was necessary to raise $3,000.00 and get a total of 500 members.
This was accomplished and the first quarters was located on the third floor
of the Century Building, 611-613 Sycamore Street The first Board of Trustees
were Rotarians , Mr.
C. W. Chapman and Mr. Austin Burt; and in addition, Judge A. B. Lovejoy. In
1913, they moved to the second floor of the old Black building, 105-111 E. 4th St. By this time, membership had reached 700. First
contribution to the building fund was made by Miss Frances Grout. In 1919,
C. F. Fowler left $10,000.00
and an additional provision for 15 per cent of all a building would
cost above $65,000.00 and up to $100,000.00. In 1922, the site where the YWCA
is now located, was purchased at a price of $45,000.00. The following Building
Committee of six was appointed to start a building campaign:
Mrs. I B. Sedgwick, Chairman Mr.
J. W. Rath
Mr. James Graham
Mrs. W. W. Lytle
Mr. Henry Grout
Mrs. T. U. McManus
of Trustees was also appointed. These were as follows:
Mr. C. W. Chapman, Chairman
Mrs. W. H. Langlas
Mr. L W. Blough, Treasurer Building Fund Mrs. C. 0. Balliet
Mr. A. B. Lovejoy
Mrs. Harry Northey
Mr. Henry Grout
Mr. Wirt Hoxie, Sr.
Mr. J. W. Rath
May, 1927, a campaign was started, to raise the sum of $135,000.00. The goal
was reached within a period of May 1-9 and the architect was authorized to
proceed with the plans so that construction could be started at an early date.
The General Advisory Committee was John W. Rath,
Chairman. In addition, the following Rotarians were requested to serve by
Fred D. Adams
W. P. Hoxie, Sr.
Charles F. Altstadt
George W. Huntley
W. H, Brunn IV.
C. W. Chapman George
James M. Graham H.
John Hartman C.
Rotarians who are members of the present Board in 1966 are: W. H. Langlas and James N. Miller.
Total cost of the building and lot amounted to $242,113.15. The area of the
building, which is 75 x 140, is 10,500 sq. feet. The 1966 membership has reached
5,676. The 1966 budget as requested from United Services of Black Hawk County
Waterloo is, indeed, proud of this institution which has done so much for
the daughters of our citizens and working girls who use the services of this
WATERLOO CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
Many of our Rotarians will remember that there was an intense rivalry between
cast and west Waterloo
following World War I, both from an industrial standpoint as well as residential
The west side Commercial Club was headed by several Rotarians and likewise
the east Waterloo Club had club rooms on the top floor of the National Bank
Building, also headed by Rotarians. In the late 1920’s, these two clubs were
consolidated into what is now the Waterloo Chamber of Commerce. Rotarian Herman
C. Miller was the first President of the Waterloo Chamber of Commerce in 1928.
Since that time, nineteen other Rotarians have served as President. This merger was accomplished through
a fine spirit of fellowship—much of which was developed in the Waterloo Rotary
Club, There no longer exists the bitter feeling of antagonism between east
and west Waterloo which was so plainly evident forty years ago.
Much of the credit for the success of the Waterloo Chamber of Commerce in
recent years has been due to the excellent job being done by Pat Touchae, who is the Executive vice-President and Secretary
of the Waterloo Chamber of Commerce. Pat is also Chairman of the Urban Street and Highway
Research Assn. which was organized in 1961. Because of the active part taken
by Pat in the association’s activities, the share of the road use tax fund
given to cities was increased from 8 to 13 percent. This has amounted to as
much as $300,000.00 per year for Waterloo.
This tremendous saving is in itself four or five times the amount of the total
Chamber of Commerce budget each year. Pat also took an active part in securing
more representation in both the Senate and the House for Black Hawk
County. In addition, he has spent long
hours and been a hard worker in the formation of the Waterloo Industrial Development
Assn., the results of which are fully stated in another part of this review.
Pat Touchae resigned as Mayor of Waterloo on Apr.1,
1956. At that time, the total membership of the Chamber was somewhat less
than 1000 members. The total number of members as of June 1, 1966 is 1,400.
We have had some excellent presidents of the Waterloo Chamber during the past
few years, and our president for 1966 is Rotarian Lowell Walker, who is doing
a splendid job in this important position of responsibility.
OF HISTORY AND SCIENCE
Henry W. Grout, prominent Waterloo
attorney, passed away in 1932. His will provided for the establishment of
an historical museum to be governed by the Henry W. Grout Trust which came
into being in the year 1933 with John W. Rath, Chairman
of the Trustees, including James Graham and George E. Pike.
George Pike, a prominent Kiwanian who served faithfully
on the Board of Trustees since the beginning, became Chairman upon the death
of J. W. Rath. Pike’s contribution and devotion
to this institution has been tremendous. Upon the retirement of Pike as
Chairman, he was succeeded by A. K. (Stub) Pingeno.
Pingeno died of a heart attack on July 16, 1963. Now serving
as Trustees are Dr. Thomas Trunnell, Chairman, George
Pike, and Gust Olson, Jr. Rotarian George W. Huntley was named secretary in
1933 and filled this position efficiently until his death in 1946. He was
succeeded by Rotarian S. A. (Co) Cohagan who acted
as Secretary until 1955. He was succeeded by Mrs. Genevieve B. Woodbridge
who is now doing an excellent job as Executive Director and Secretary.
The directors felt that if Mr. Grout were here today, he would prefer that
the name be changed from the “Grout Museum” to the present name of “Museum
of History and Science” which covers a broader field and enables the organization
to give proper credit to other donors who contribute historical mementos and
antiques for permanent display and possession of this worthwhile institution.
The beautiful building which this museum now occupies was the former location
of the John H. Leavitt home, which was one of the first residences built in
County shortly after the founding of Waterloo in 1854. John H. Leavitt was an honorary
Rotarian. The Leavitt Bank, the first bank in Waterloo, was built by John H. Leavitt in 1856,
at 321 W. 4th St.,
in the building now occupied by Milroy’s Clothiers.
The cornerstone of the new museum building was laid in 1954 and it was completed
and opened to the public on Aug. 30, 1956. Prominent members of the Waterloo
Rotary Club and Waterloo Kiwanis Club have contributed much to the success
of this fine institution which is now under the capable direction of Mrs.
many months of careful planning, starting in 1953, the Waterloo Centennial
program began to get underway.
General Chairman was Earl C. Glasson and Co-Chairman,
C. A. Morris. Paul K. Meyers, Secretary of the Chamber of Commerce, and Mayor
Pat Touchae, together with Glasson and Morris, made
up the executive committee. The Board of Directors were George Allbee, Robert Young, Phil Winslow, Phil Taylor, A.K. Pingeno, and Harry M. Reed.
The Committee Chairmen were as follows: Finance, Geo.Allbee;
Underwriter, Fred Mast; Historical, S. A. Cohagan;
Novelties Committee, T.A. Campbell; Official Hat Committee, Burton Field;
Committee, Dewey Butterfield; Sisters of the Swish, Luella Miehe;
Concessions, Clarence Peterson; Decorating, Dean Platt; Spectacle Tickets,
Robert Young; Advance Tickets, Lowell Walker; Queens Contest, Don Francis;
Publicity, Phil Taylor; Spectacle, Phil Winslow; Hospitality, Harry M. Reed.
This entire program was, indeed, a well-organized effort in which many hundreds
of people other than the Committee Chairmen took part. It was thoroughly planned
from the beginning and it was exceptionally well financed. It seemed to be
the eoneensus that if this huge undertaking could be carried through
without a sizeable deficit, it
would border on a miracle. Fortunately, for all concerned, after
all bills were paid and the celebration was over, there was a net profit of
approximately $13,000.00. This money was turned over to the United Appeal
building fund which has resulted in the construction of the Community Services
building at l028Headford Ave. After the completion of this structure, most
of the welfare agencies were located in this beautiful building. Within a
short period of time it should be free of debt, and we in Waterloo
will have the distinction of being one of the few cities in the Middle West with a Community Services building in which
are housed most of the welfare agencies. Much credit is due Rotarian Earl
Glasson, his Executive Committees, and the Chairmen of all the other committees
who took such an active part in this most memorable and historical event.
Kiwanian A. N.(Nory) Caines played a prominent role in this worthwhile project.
He has also been active in church work and civic affairs for many years.
Copy of final financial statement shows net profit of $13,477.75.
WATERLOO CENTENNIAL, INC.
OCTOBER 1, 1954
Div. $10,390.21 $35,273.15
Finance Div. $50,932.99
$22,179.20 $ 27,853.79
Spectacle Ticket Div. $26.985.25
$ 24,190.56 *
Spectacle Div. $24,190.56
$ 9,164.74 $ 15,025.82
Publicity Div. $ 1,751.50
Special Events Div. $ 304.01
Hospitality Div. $ 282.67
Net Profit from Activities
(On deposit at Peoples Bank and Trust Co.)
Note: * designates
WATERLOO CENTENNIAL, INC.
Earl C. Glasson, General Chairman
Paul K. Meyers, Secretary-Treasurer
submitted: E. D. Kadera, Auditor
Copy of this final statement was furnished through the courtesy of
George Allbee, Chairman of the Centennial Finance
SERVICES OF BLACK
In the year of 1923,
the citizens of Waterloo
decided to organize what was then called the Waterloo Community Chest. This
was supposed to take care of all the charitable agencies which needed public
assistance, In those days, this was confined to only a few organizations including
the YMCA, YWCA, Salvation Army, Boy Scouts, etc. S.A. Cohagan, YMCA Secretary, was named as the organization’s first
president. The total budget for that year was $49,901.00. By 1940, the budget
increased to $93,882.00; in 1950 it reached a total of $186,209.00. In the
year of 1955, the activities were expanded to include practically all worthy
welfare agencies and charitable organizations. The name was changed to United
Services and the 1955 budget was $376,112.00. The growth of this worthy organization
was such that the facilities were housed in a number of different buildings
scattered throughout Waterloo and Cedar Falls. The expense
for rent and extra clerical personnel was increasing tremendously and it was
then decided that a new building should be built to house all the different
organizations who were the beneficiaries of the annual United Services budget.
Waterloo was the first town in the State of Iowa to develop such a
project. It has, indeed, proved to be a very wise decision. Most of the agencies
are now located under one roof and the money that was being paid out for rent
each month is being applied against the mortgage of this fine building which,
before too long, will be free of debt. The following Rotarians have served
with distinction as president of the organization first known as the Community
Chest until 1955, and, since then, as president of United Services:
S. A. Cohagan
Floyd Goodrich Wirt P. Hoxie
Harry G. Northey E.
E. (Dick) Baily
Wililam A. Dewees Dr.
Earl Glasson Earl Underbrink
Roland G. Reed
Waterloo can be justly proud of this worthwhile organization. In 1960, the
amount raised was $514,243.00. In the year 1965, the budget was approved for
$567,061.00 and the full amount of this goal was reached 24 hrs. before the
deadline expired. Congratulations for a very well-organized campaign.
United Services of Black Hawk County is in a most fortunate situation due
to the ownership of their beautiful building located on Hiway
218 between Waterloo and Cedar Falls. This is known as Community Services
A conservative estimate of the actual value of this property would be as foliows:
lots--each size 200’x 375’
Contributed by Kearns family
400’x375’- $200 per front foot
assessed value of these lots
Original cost of building including
architect’s fee & paving parking lot
Balance on 20-yr. Mortgage
—Lutheran Mutual 7/1/66
Balance on note to
United Services 7/1/66 19,000.00
The size of the building is 18,275 sq. ft., including 3,800 sq.ft.
in the basement.
The writer is indebted to Executive Director Thomas O’Connor for this helpful
ILLINOIS CENTRAL RAILROAD
For a number of years the Illinois Central payroll was the largest in
County as they employed
over 2500 people. Someone from the Illinois Central has been a member of Rotary
since the beginning.
In 1915, Fred Austin and William L. Buckley were Rotarians. Walter Scott Williams,
General Superintendent of the Western Lines of the Illinois Central, joined
the Waterloo Rotary in 1921. He took an active part in Rotary up until the
time of his death on June 3, 1937. Succeeding Williams as General Supt. were
the following: Charles Duggan, William R. Giliam,
Walter E. Davis,
S. C. Jones, and Edward Buelow. All were members
of Waterloo Rotary Club. Rotarian John W. Dodge has been Superintendent since
1956, and John M. Oliver, Freight Solicitor, is also active.
It is the writer’s privilege to have access to a copy of the published wage
scale for locomotive engineers, effective as of May 11 1915. A comparison
between wages in effect at that time with rates being paid as of July 1, 1966,
are as follows:
Passenger 1915 $ 4.90
Passenger 1966 $ 22.80
Freight 1915 $ 4.90
Freight 1966 $ 25.00
The above rates cover 100 miles of travel and, in addition, there are other
fringe benefits today which did not exist in 1915. Today, the biggest freight
tonnage carried on the Illinois Central is in carload shipments. They no longer
operate local trains stopping at small towns between terminals.
This is quite a change, indeed, not only in wages but in the type of equipment
used to operate both passenger and freight lines. Power, today, is provided
by diesel engines rather than the old coal- fired steam engines.
CHICAGO—GREAT WESTERN RAILROAD
The Chicago-Great Western Railroad has through freight service from Chicago via Oelwein, and also a main line from Minneapolis to Kansas City
via Oelwein and Waterloo, One of their other
branch lines is from Oelwein to Omaha via Fort Dodge. In recent years,
the Great Western has confined itself entirely to carload freight business.
During the first 25 or 30 years of this century. the Great Western .operated
passenger trains from Waterloo to Chicago with a set- out sleeper at Waterloo. They also had two or three passenger
trains a day each way from Minneapolis to St.
Paul through Oelwein and south through Des Moines to Kansas
City. For many years, their local commercial agent
was Rotarian Thomas J. Cleary. Tom was a genial individual and a good mixer.
He had a lot of friends in Waterloo and they
were glad to see him advanced in the Traffic Department to a position of responsibility
in the Chicago
ROCK ISLAND LINES
Waterloo is on the main line of the Rock Island from St. Louis
The Rock Island system in Iowa has several thousand of miles of trackage, and for this reason it is possible to make connections
with the principal lines at junction points in Cedar Rapids, Iowa City, West
Liberty, Burlington, & Keokuk. Bob Johnson was the commercial agent for
lines. For many years Rock Island passenger
service in and out of Waterloo was very help
iii in making Waterloo one of the leading trading
centers in northern Iowa.
The company still has passenger service on the Rock Island Rocket from Waterloo to Minneapolis St.
Originally this road was operated as the Waterloo-Cedar Falls
and Northern Railroad. It was organized and built by the Cass Brothers, covered
previously in the early part of this review. Genial Rotarian Claude Cheney
became the local manager of this railroad and served for 47 years as general
manager and president. Claude was also a past president of the Waterloo Rotary
Club, having served in the year of 1933-1934. Claude was one of the
most liberal contributors to various civic projects in Waterloo history. He came to Waterloo in 1895 and passed away on January
18, 1960. The Waterloo Railroad is still serving some of our largest industries
with excellent switching service. These include the
John Deere plant, Rath Packing Company, and all
of the other industries which require carload switching service. Many local
shippers specify “Waterloo Railroad” as the delivering line.
WESTERN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY
Rotarian Jim King is the local manager and co-owner. When Jim landed in Waterloo in 1943, he had
no idea whether he would be here 30 days or 30 years. The volume of business
was not very big, to say the least. If they averaged a truck load a day, to
and from Chicago
market, they thought they were doing very well. Today, they have from 20 to
25 trucks daily and average 10,000,000 pounds of cargo per month. This is,
indeed, a very substantial volume. Western Transportation Company has a total
of 225 operating trucks in its entire system. In the Waterloo
terminal, the firm operates strictly between here and Chicago, with no intermediate stops. The Waterloo terminal has expanded
twice since Jim took over, and in addition to’over
the road’ trucks, they also ship a considerable amount of merchandise by ‘piggyback.’
Concerns like Western, along with several other competitors, including Briggs,
Takin, Gateway, and Boss, have done much to make
Waterloo one of the largest truck terminals
in the state of Iowa.
Several other smaller lines handle freight from Waterloo
distributors to local dealers and merchants in the smaller towns throughout
the entire state of Iowa.
THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY
very fortunate, indeed, to have a fine relationship between the building contractors,
labor unions and all of the crafts. One of the oldest industrial contractors
in the state of Iowa
is John G. Miller & Sons, which concern was founded by Rotarian John G.
Miller, Sr. in 1895. Ed Paulson, Executive Vice President, represents this
concern in Rotary and has been a member of the Waterloo Rotary Club since
1960. Ed is a past president of the Iowa Master Builders Assn. This concern
specializes in commercial and industrial construction and,, in the past, has
done a large volume of business for Rath’s, John
Deere, and other industrial plants throughout the state. This firm was general
contractor for the Black Hawk County Court House which is one of the finest
buildings of its kind in northern Iowa.
Jens Olesen and Sons Construction Company is another
old, established concern, having been in business since 1921. Rotarian J.
Peter Olesen is Chairman of the Board and Fred Mast
is President. They have done a considerable amount of industrial construction
at Rath’s and John Deere, and have erected schoolhouses. hospitals,
etc. Both Jens Olesen and John C. Miller have many
large projects under construction at the present time. One of the larger jobs
being built by Olesen is St. Francis
Hospital. Total dollar volume of industrial
construction now underway by Miller and Olesen exceeds
a combined volume of $20,000,000.00. Total number employed by Miller and Olesen
is more than 600.
We have another Rotarian in the commercial field doing business as Charles
Mauser and Son, Inc. “Chuck” Mauser
has been a member of the Waterloo Rotary Club since 1951. This corporation
was established by his father, Charles Mauser, Sr. in 1946.
“Chuck” is now President and General Manager. They have specialized to a large
degree in new store fronts and other industrial applications. In addition,
they have also done some business with the John Deere Waterloo Tractor Works.
Charles Mauser, Sr. started the business in the
home building field in 1915 Laural Hedeen,
Consulting Engineer. Laural hns
been a member of the Waterloo Rotary Club since 1946. For many years, he has
been associated with Merle Todd who was formerly a Rotarian in Waterloo
but is now living in Florida.
They operate as ToddHedeen International. Actually
they are doing business in many foreign lands, and have during the past few
years completed large industrial projects in Cuba, Honduras, Peru, Chile,
Milano, Italy; Hamburg, Germany; and Istanbul, Turkey. However, the bulk of
their business out of the Waterloo office is done in Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota,
South Dakota, and Nebraska, Some of their larger jobs of recent importance
were the Black Hawk County Court House, Schoitz
Memorial Hospital, Allen Memorial Hospital, West Waterloo High School, Columbus
High School, Morningside College, and Heelen High
School at Sioux City, Iowa. The Waterloo Rotary Club can be justly proud of
the splendid reputation which this fine engineering firm enjoys.
Rotarian Dick Young has the classification of Heating and Ventilating Service.
Dick joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1943. The Young Plumbing and Heating
Company is a large industrial contractor and has made many of the large installations
in north central and northeastern Iowa during the past few years. Some of
the firm’s recent jobs were Black Hawk County Court House, the library building
at the State College of Iowa, Howard Johnson’s Motel and Restaurant in Cedar
Falls, and at present the firm has under construction Central Catholic High
School at Dyersville, Henderson Library at Fayette, Hoover Jr. High School,
Waterloo; Parkview Gardens Retirement Home, also Home for Exceptional Persons;
and various apartments now under construction in the Waterloo area. The total
dollar volume in these projects now underway exceeds $1,500,000.00. The number
of employees on Young’s payroll is approximately 75 people. This is indeed
a splendid asset to the construction industry of Waterloo
and the northeastern Iowa
Gerald (Jerry) David See has the classification of Electrical Contractor.
Jerry joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1947. His business is electrical
contracting in all fields. His payroll is approximately 25 employees on a
year-round basis. Some of the larger jobs recently completed are the Waterloo City Hall
and Black Hawk County Court House. At present, he has under construction four
different units at the State College of Iowa at Cedar Fails, including the
Science building, a dormitory unit, the dining room, and lounge addition,
and an addition to Bartlett Hall dormitory. He also has a sizeable job under
way at the Carnation plant in Waverly and the St. Ansgar
Lutheran Church at St. Ansgar, Iowa.
In addition to the industrial contractors in the construction field, we also
have Rotarian Bill Wisner, classification of Carpentry Contractor, who has
been a member of the Rotary Club since 1950. Bill enjoys a large volume of
business in residential construction and remodeling.
William H. Walker has the classification of Home Building Contractor. Bill
is one of our newer members, and he has had a broad experience in this field.
He specializes in some of the better homes in the upper price brackets, and,
to his credit, has built many of the fine homes in the new residential sections
of West Waterloo and in Cedar Falls.
We are indeed glad to have Bill as a member of the Waterloo Rotary Club.
The Waterloo Tile and Marble Company was started by Rotarian Sam Longfellow
in the year of 1914. Sam joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1930 and passed
away in March, 1961. He seldom missed a meeting when he was in Waterloo. This business has been continued under
the direction of his son-in-law, Rotarian LaVerne
Nilsson. The firm employs a total of 10 men in the field who handle the installations.
It specializes in commercial jobs as well as in the domestic field. At present,
workers for the firm are --
installing tile and marble in the new St. Francis Hospital, which is one of the largest projects
they have ever handled.
Rotarian Richard Brom is a member of the firm. Thorson
Associates, Inc., classification-Architects, Churches. This well-known firm
was established in Waterloo
about 20 yrs. ago. It now has a total of three registered architects in the
office in addition to the principals of the firm. They also employ three
draftsmen and two secretaries.
which they have designed, are the following: Westminster Presbyterian, Zion
Lutheran, United Evangelical, Immanuel Lutheran, Prince of Peace in Evansdale;
St Mark’s Methodist in Evansdale. In addition to churches, they have recently
designed the addition to Schoitz and Allen Hospitals,
Metropolitan Life building, and Peoples Mutual Savings and Loan.
Rotarian Ivan Warm is a member of the firm of Toenjes,
Stenson, and Warm, Architects. Classification - Architects, General. This
architectural firm does a substantial volume of business in northeastern Iowa and other parts of
the state. It employs a total of 12 people, including two secretaries. Currently,
the firm is completing plans for the Minnie
which will be constructed in a Cedar
Heights area. This is
endowed school for handicapped and mentally retarded children. Also under
construction is the Garvey Hall dormitory at Upper Iowa
University at a cost of $1,750,000.00.
Also a library at Fayette, cost $600,000.00. In addition, the Story County
Court House at Nevada, Iowa, is progressing rapidly and will soon
be completed. Black
Hospital at the county
farm is likewise under construction. In addition, the firm has several retirement
homes in this area which are under construction and many of them will soon
be completed. Schoolhouses are included in the 1966 construction program,
with units being built at Anamosa, Maynard, and Fayette.
THE WATERLOO SCHOOL SYSTEM
At the time Rotary was organized in Waterloo
in 1915, Rotarian A. T. Hukil was Superintendent
of West Waterloo schools, and Rotarian Charles Kline was Superintendent of
East Waterloo schools. For the past 50 years, our school superintendents have
been closely identified with Rotary, and many of our school principals and
other school executives have been members of some of the other
fine service clubs operating within the limits of the city of Waterloo. Rotarian
Jack Logan since 1933 and his successor, Rotarian George Hohl, have contributed much to our fine school system. George
Diestelmeier, Assistant Superintendent, is also
We are fortunate in having a Board of Education headed by Rotarian President
Syd Thomas, and an efficient executive staff in our school
system, so that today Waterloo schools stand out above most other cities’
of the state of Iowa, with the lowest per-pupil
cost and the highest scholastic standing in the Middle West. Through the years,
many members of Rotary served on the Board of Education including the following:
Ben Swisher, Carleton Sias, Charles Altstadt, H. 0. Bernbrock, Robert
Cass, Earl Glasson, Phil Taylor, E. L. Rohlf, A.
G. Reid, William Ogle, Charles Shirey, Dr. Russell
Gerard, William Dewees, Fred Adams, Sydney Thomas.
Total enrollment for the year ending .June 10,
1966 in the Waterloo
elementary and high schools was 18,814 students. The system employs 763 teaches,
plus 29 principals, or a total of 792. Total employment in all the schools,
including administrators, secretaries, janitors, and other employees throughout
the District, amounts to 1,169 people. The efficient manner in which this
District has been handled is, indeed, a splendid tribute to the leadership
of Superintendent George Hohi and his able assistant
Almon F, Gates came to Waterloo in 1888. He bought a business college
which he consolidated with Tobin
College in 1891. Later
that year, he sold this business and went to Upper Iowa
University. For several years he was Superintendent
of Schools at
Postville, Iowa. In 1898 he came back to Waterloo, bought the business college and incorporated as
Waterloo Business College.
“Al” was, probably more than anyone else, responsible for the organization
of the Waterloo Rotary Club and was the Club’s first
Upon his death, the business continued under the
direction of Bruce F. Gates, who is well-known to all of us, as he not only
served as President of the Waterloo Rotary Club but was also District Governor.
Bruce retired several years ago and sold Gates College
to Stuart Sears. The school now has a staff of 16 people on the payroll and
the average enrollment is approximately 175 students the year ‘round. The
business still operates as Gates
and enjoys an enviable reputation in the educational field
throughout the state of Iowa.
HAWKEYE INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY
The Waterloo area is soon to have a new technical
training school which will be located somewhere in Black Hawk
County. The new Board of Directors, which
were elected on May 19 from a seven-county area, has scheduled an election
for voting on a 3/4-mill levy for five years to assist in site purchase and
construction, Out of the nine-members of the Board, three members of the Waterloo
Rotary Club were elected. They were; James D. Kirk, R. Lawrence Kilgore, and
Wallace Reed. This will fill a long- felt need for technical training, which
was so badly needed for our fast growing industries in northern Iowa.
It is reported that the site of this new
school will contain approximately 160 acres, Enrollment after five
years is expected to reach 3,000 to 4,000 students and possibly more. Other
directors elected from the area which this school will serve, are as follows:
Dr. Emil L Koch, Plainfield, Iowa; Walter Frederick, Jr., Waverly, Iowa; T.
Cooper Evans, Grundy Center, Iowa; James Martin, Sr., Independence, Iowa;
Harlan Van Gerpen, Cedar Falls, Iowa; Harold L. Brock, Chairman of the
Board, Waterloo, Iowa.
The Board has announced the hiring of Dr. Walter Travis Martin, Jr.,, as Superintendent
of this new school. He has been the Dean of Instruction at the Wayne Technical
Father John F. Paar, Principal, Columbus High School.
Father Walter Brunkan, Asst. Principal. The parochial
schools in Black
have, indeed, shown a splendid growth during the past few years. Close to
6,000 students are being educated each year in this area which includes eight
elementary schools in addition to Columbus
High School. Enrollment
at Columbus High last year was 1,250 students.
The eight elementary schools are: St. Edwards, Sacred Heart, St. Mary’s, St. John’s, St. Joseph’s,
Blessed Sacrament, St Nicholas, Evansdale; St. Patrick’s, Cedar Falls. Columbus High School
has excellent bus service covering the entire county. Columbus was opened hi 1959 with an investment
of $1,800,000.00. The school has a very intensive athletic program and is
now participating in all major sports, including track, baseball, basketball,
and football. All of Waterloo and Black Hawk
County can well be proud
of this well-organized operation. Many of the sons and daughters of both Waterloo and Cedar Falls
Rotarians are privileged to use the facilities of these fine schools.
Throughout the years, Waterloo Rotary Club has been blessed with a large
number of ministers of various religious denominations. Many of them have
taken a prominent part in the activities of the Waterloo Rotary Club. They
have served on important committees and also have taken an active part in
civic affairs-— United Appeal, Y.M.C.A., Y.W.C.A., and other charitable organizations.
Herbert B. Dierenfield was the 35th President of
the Waterloo Rotary Club, 1949-1950. Fred B. Miller served the club as its
45th President, 1959-1960. Another ardent member was Frank W. Court who first
belonged to the Waterloo Club in the early 1920’s, He later returned and was
a member for almost 20 yrs. up until the time of his death in 1 964. Frank
had an unusual aptitude for reading poetry and verse, and, although he retired
from the pulpit, he continued his membership as Senior Active. He seldom missed
a meeting when he was in Waterloo.
Other former members of the ministry were as follows:
M. Yaggy William H. Beachler
Charlcs Gunnell W. W. Bowers
J. S. Deedrick
Father J. M. Molloy
Albert T. Ronk
Father Edward J. O’Hagan Henry
SKETCHES OF PAST PRESIDENTS
TERMS OF OFFICE AND CLASSIFICATION
It is a matter of record that most of the past Presidents of the Waterloo
Rotary Club have taken an active part in various Club projects by serving
on important committees, the Board of Directors, and in most cases, as Vice-President.
This service to the club usually extended over a period of several years.
Because of this experience, these men were well qualified to take over as
President and to carry on the good work of their predecessors.
The first President and a charter member of the Waterloo Rotary Club was Fred
L. Northey, 1915-16. His classification was “Refrigerators.”
Fred was born at Conesville,
Iowa, July 24, 1875 and came to Waterloo in 1886, graduating from Gates College.
He was also President of Northey Manufacturing Company,
manufacturing commercial refrigerators for the hotel and restaurant trade,
He was a director of Black Hawk County Chapter of American Red Cross for 27
years. He later became District Governor of Rotary and was Past Exalted Ruler
of the Elks and a member of the Loyal Order of Moose. He was a life member
of the Vestry of Christ Episcopal Church. Fred served as City Clerk from 1936
-1948. He was a loyal and faithful servant and took part in many Rotary activities
up until the time of his death on January 15, 1949.
V. F. (Dad) Parrott, No.2, joined the Club in 1915, was President of the Waterloo
Rotary Club 1916-17. His classification was “Bookbinders.” “Dad” was also
known as “Bill” by many Rotarians and a wide circle of friends throughout
the state of Iowa.
He was born at Anamosa, Iowa,
June, 1860, came to Waterloo
in 1868, and was a member of the Black Hawk County Republican Central Committee
for over 50 yrs. For a period of ten years, he was Secretary of the National
Editorial Assn. He was co-founder of the Iowa Good Roads Assn. and was one
of the organizers of the Dairy Cattle Congress. He was a life-long member
of Christ Episcopal Church. He married Jennie Fisher October 6, 1882, the
first couple to be married in this church after its construction. He was President
of Matt Parrott and Sons Co., printers and publishers, which firm is operating
under the guidance of his son, Robert W. Parrott, and Rotarian Harrington
Buck. “Dad” Parrott died Mar.16,1945.
President No.3 was Austin Burt. 1917-18. His classification was “Gas and Electricity.”
Born June 20, 1870, in Detroit. Mich.. he came to Waterloo in 1902 and joined
the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1915. Austin
was the Manager of the Citizens’ Gas and Electric Company, now known as the
Iowa Public Service Company from 1912 through 1924. Was a graduate of Cornell University
at Ithaca, N.Y.,
and was considered to be one of the top electrical engineers in the Midwest. He was a member of the Congregational Church, a
devoted family man, and he took an active part in all church activities. A
charter member of Sunnyside Country Club, he was an ardent golfer. After his
retirement, he moved to Orland,
California, where he passed away
in 1 928. Austin and Rotarian Carleton Sias organized
the Symposium Club on Apr.11, 1908 and with ten others, were charter members.
This fine club is still in existence with a limited membership of fifteen.
John F. Simpson was President No. 4. 1918-19. His classification was “Ice.”
He was born July 25, 1866 at Davenport.
Iowa, came to Waterloo
in 1891 and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1915. He organized the Crystal
Ice and Fuel Company with Leonard I). Miller in 1908.
He was active in the State Association of Ice dealers and served as State
Secretary for more than 10 years. He was also a member of the national organization.
He died on January 25, 1926.
George W. Huntley. No. 5, charter member of the Waterloo Rotary Club 1915,
was President of the Club 1919-20. His classification was “Wholesale Hardware.”
He was born at Barkers, N.Y. June 24, 1869. He came to Waterloo in 1887, and was employed by Cutler
Hardware Company and later became its President, in which capacity he served
until 1932. He was Secretary of Grout Museum Trustees, 1933-1946. George took
a very active part in the merger of the East and West Waterloo Commercial
Clubs which resulted in the present Chamber of Commerce- He was President
for four years and a director of Dairy Cattle Congress for 33 yrs. He was
also National President for the Travelers Protective Assn. of St. Louis, Mo.
He made many friends throughout the United
States because of his sincere and unselfish
effort in building up a greatly increased membership. He died Sept. 29, 1946.
E. R. (Roy)
Shoemaker, No.6, was President of the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1920-21. His
classification was “Trade Papers.” Born at McConnellsburg, Pa.,
Jan. 13, 1876, he came to Waterloo
in 1898 and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1916. Roy
was President and General Manager of the Kimball Press, publishers of several
well-known magazines, the “Creamery Journal” and “Egg Reporter,” and also
did a commercial printing business throughout the Midwest.
He had many sizeable customers in the Chicago
area. During Roy’s
regime, he initiated a new idea in fellowship by mixing up the members through
a pre-arranged seating arrangement, each Monday noon. He would pick out some
particular member and ask him to call every other member seated at his table
by his first name, and also give his classification. At that time, the membership
of the Waterloo Club had increased to approximately 120 members. Roy accepted a challenge
by one of our members which ended up in a good-natured debate on who could
call every member of the club by his first name and give his classification.
Roy started at one end of
the room and succeeded in calling every member without exception by his first
name as well as classification, and, in many cases, the location and name
of the business he represented. He died at Waterloo,
Iowa. June 16, 1936.
C.A. Morris. No.7, was President of the
Waterloo Club in 1921- 1922 and had the classification “Motor Cars.” He was
well known throughout the state by his nickname “C-A.” He was born at Columbus Grove, Ohio, Sept.
10, 1886, came to Waterloo
as a Cadillac dealer in 1910, and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1915.
“C-A” was one of Waterloo’s most public-spirited
citizens and was a leader who took an active part in all activities which
provided a better way of life for the citizens of Waterloo
and Black Hawk County.
He served several years on the River Front Commission, the Park Board, Chamber
of Commerce, and the YMCA Board. He was an ardent Iowa
football fan and seldom missed a Big-Ten game either in Iowa City or on the road. He was instrumental
in acquiring an option on 30-acres north of Cedar Falls which is known as “Rotary Reserve.”
This beautiful property was purchased at a very favorable price because of
“C-A’s” acquaintance with some of the farmers in that vicinity. “C-A” also
owned a summer home two or three miles north of Rotary Reserve, on the Cedar
River, near the town of Janesville. In fact, this home was more familiarly
known as “Morris Isle.” This was the site of some of the early day Rotary-family
picnics prior to the time the Reserve was purchased. He contributed much to
the growth and development of the Waterloo
club over a period of many years, and sponsored and organized many Rotary
Clubs in neighboring cities, including Cedar Falls,
Waverly, Charles City,
and West Union. He has probably attended
more district conferences and Rotary International Conventions than any other
member of the Waterloo Club. He was Co-Chairman of 1954 Centennial Committee,
also Citizens’ Action Committee— see “Treatise” part two. He is now an honorary
member and is confined at Allen Rest Home.
Carleton Sias, No.8. was
President of the Waterloo Rotary Club 1922-23. His classification was “Corporation
Law.” Born at Spencerport. N.Y. on Nov. 22, 1877,
he came to Waterloo
in 1903 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club 1915. He was familiarly known as “Cap”
and acquired his nickname because of his military record with the National
Guard. He was commissioned a Captain in the infantry division of the Waterloo
National Guard and served with distinction with the American troops on the
Mexican border during the short-lived Mexican War. “Cap” was well known as
an after- dinner speaker and was President of Toastmasters’ Club of America.
He took an active part in community affairs—Y.M.C.A., United Appeal, and the
Dairy Cattle Congress. He died in Waterloo
April 10, 1961.
D. Adams, No.9, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1923-24. His classification
was “Wholesale Paper.” Born at Alma, Michigan, March 26,
1890, he came to Waterloo
September 1890 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club in 1915. He was President of
Adams Paper and Specialties Company, wholesale distribution. He took an active part in civic affairs—Y.M.C.A.,
Community Fund (United Appeal), Chamber of Commerce, twelve years on the East
Waterloo School Board. 12 years on the Municipal Board of Water Works Trustees,
Elks, Masons, charter member of Sunnyside Country Club, and member of WIDA.
He is now Senior Director, Perpetual Savings and Loan. He also helped
organize Walnut Realty Co., builder of Walnut Court Apartments and was President
of the Walnut Realty Co. for 18 years. He was appointed by President Ralph
Hoxie as a special representative to organize and sponsor a Rotary Club in
which received its charter November 28, 1925 with 17 charter members. Al Gildner
was the first president. Al is now a member of the Waterloo club with a Senior Active classification.
Harold Jones, a charter member of the Manchester Club, has a record of more
than 40 yrs. 100 per cent attendance, made up by attendance at clubs all over
the country. The Manchester Club once held its weekly meeting in the hospital
so that Harold’s attendance record would not be broken. Fred’s present classification
is Senior Active.
Ralph J. Hoxie. No. 10, was President of the Rotary
Club 1924- 1925. His classification was “Wholesale Fruit.” Born April 1, 1878,
he came to Waterloo
1888 and was a charter member of Waterloo Rotary in 1915. He was known to
many as “Big Hi.” Ralph was hail-hearty and well met, and his administration
was known as the “Diamond Joe” administration. This was because of his generosity
in furnishing Diamond Joe cigars without charge on many occasions including
family picnics, farmers’ days, and other special entertainments. He was recognized
as a forceful public speaker. He was good-will ambassador and organized the
“Wholesalers’ Tour” by special trains for 3-day trips throughout northeastern
was a very successful and annual event for many years. He died in Des Moines in the year 1939.
Bruce F. Gates, No.11, served as President of the Waterloo Club in 1925-26.
His classification was “Business
College.” He was born
on Jan.26, 1893 at Fayette, Ia.,
came to Waterloo
in 1898 and joined the Waterloo Rotary in 1915. Bruce is the son of Almon F. Gates who was the first Secretary of the Waterloo
Rotary Club. Almon was the founder of Gates Business
College and Bruce became
President of this fine institution. He became nationally known for his fine
speaking ability, and was in demand for Rotary talks throughout the state
of Iowa and some of the adjoining
states. He was recognized as a very convincing speaker and delivered commencement
addresses all over the Middle West. A member
of Chamber of Commerce, Elks, and Masons, he was also past District Governor
in 1926-27. His present classification is Senior Active.
Clyde 1). Allen, No. 12, served as President of the Waterloo Club
in 1926-27. His classification was “Wholesale Paint and Glass Distributing.”
Born at Fowler, Indiana, May 17, 1879, he
came to Waterloo
in 1917 as General Manager of the Standard Glass and Paint. He joined the
Rotary Club in 1918. Clyde was the first
General Chairman of the newly organized Community Fund and was President of
the Y.M.C.A. from 1927 through 1934 when the present building was constructed.
He later retired and moved to California
in 1942, and died later in the same year.
James M. Graham, No.13, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1927-28. He
joined the Waterloo Club in 1917. His classification was “Department Store.”
Born in County Tyrone, Ireland, Oct. 19, 1875, he was one of Waterloo’s early pioneers who came to this country from Ireland
in 1892. He became associated with the James Black Dry Goods Company and was
President and Chief Executive Officer of this fine store for many years. James
was recognized as an outstanding civic leader and a generous contributor to
all civic projects. He was director of many of our business and financial
institutions including Rath Packing Company and
the National Bank. In 1933, he was named as one of three Trustees of Henry
W. Grout Museum Trust. See “Treatise“
part two. He died April 12, 1964.
Andrew G. Reid (Andy), No. 14, prominent attorney, served the Waterloo Club
in 1928-2 9. His classification was “Civil Law.” Born at St.
Charles, Iowa, May 24, 1878, he
came to Waterloo
in 1914, and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1921. He was President of
the Black Hawk County Abstract Co., and Chairman of the building committee
that built the present Y.M.C.A. building and a member of the YMCA board for
25 years. He was, for many years, a prominent referee and official in the
Big Ten football conference, He was County
Attorney in 1930—36,
member of the Black Hawk County Bar Association and an elder in the First
Presbyterian Church. He died on July 26, 1941.
William H. Beverstock (Bill), No.15. was President of the Waterloo Club in 1929-30. His classification
was “Wholesale Lumber.” Bill, also known as “Bevo”
was born March 12, 1887 at Tontogany,
Ohio, came to Waterloo in 1916 and joined the Rotary Club
in 1920. He was a most loyal and faithful servant to the Waterloo Club and
attended many District conferences as well as several International conventions.
He was always hail-hearty and well met and put himself out to welcome Rotary
guests who attended the Waterloo Rotary meetings. Bill was very regular in
making up his attendance in other towns and cities when he was on vacation.
He died June 24, 1965.
Gwynne Weston, No. 16, served as President of the Waterloo Club in 1930-31.
His classification was “Photo Engraving.” Gwynne was born Nov. 25, 1887 at
came to Waterloo
in 1910, and joined Waterloo Rotary 1915. He not only served the Club faithfully
as President. but also acted as its Secretary from
1921 through 1924 and again in 1931 through 1933. He was president of the
Waterloo Engraving and Service Company and organized the Weston-Barnett Advertising
Agency. He was active in civic affairs—United Appeal, Chamber of Commerce,
past president of Visiting Nurses Association, Congregational Church, past
president of Civic Music, Elks, Sunnyside Country Club. He was one of a committee
of five organized to take over the auditorium from the Cattle Congress for
the city of Waterloo, now known as McElroy Auditorium—one of Waterloo’s biggest
assets. He is now an honorary member.
Dr. John E. Brinkman, No. 17, was President of the Rotary Club 1931-32. His
classification was “Physician & Surgeon.” Born in Clayton County, Iowa,
May 12, 1874, he came to Waterloo
in 1898 and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1918. Many of his friends called
him “Brink.” He was commissioned a Captain in a Medical Battalion in World
War I and served overseas. He was well known and highly regarded in the medical
profession and, during his term as President of the Club, was fondly remembered
because of his ready wit and ingenuity. He was past President of the Waterloo
Civic Music Association and also Chamber of Commerce. He died on December
Charles A. Kittrell, No. 18, was President of the
Waterloo Club 1932-33 and had the classification as “Public School Administration.”
Born at Madisonville, Tennessee, Mar. 27, 1889, he came to Waterloo in 1926 and joined Rotary Club 1926.
He was Superintendent of the West Waterloo schools for 16 years and was coauthor
of “The Classroom,” a book on teaching methods which had a wide circulation
throughout the United States.
He was past President of the N.E. division of the Iowa State Teachers Association.
He died on April 26. 1942.
Claude H. Cheney, No. 19, was President of the Waterloo Club 1933-34. His
classification was “Electric Railroads.” Born in Bradford,
Ill., October 25, 1875, he came to Waterloo in 1895 and joined
the Rotary Club in 1924. He was Vice-President and General Manager of the
Waterloo-Cedar Fails Northern Railway for 47 yrs. He was widely known for
his generous contributions, both of time and money, to everything that was
good for the city of Waterloo
and the community at large. He was one of the leaders in organizing the Community
Fund (now United Appeal), was past President of the Chamber of Commerce, a
very generous contributor to all civic projects and a member of the First
Presbyterian Church. He died January 18, 1960.
Thomas M. Buchanan, No. 20, was President of the Waterloo Club 1934-35. His
classification was “Optician.” Born at Montezuma,
Ia., Feb. 18, 1883, he came to Waterloo and started his
practice in 1910; joining the Waterloo Club in 1915. Tom was a hard worker
and a devoted Rotarian. Under his fine leadership, the Waterloo Rotary Club
had a substantial growth in spite of the depression of the mid-30’s.
He was a member of the First Congregational Church, the Elks, Masons, and
Director of the Y.M.C.A. He died on April 8, 1954.
Frank Collord, No.21, Dodge Dealer, served as President
of the Waterloo Club in 1935-36. His classification was “Auto Dealer.” Born
on July 25, 1893, he came to Waterloo 1915 and joined Rotary Club in 1925.
He was past Commander American Legion and served overseas in World War I. Frank was active in the National Automobile
Assn., serving in different capacities and as a member of the National Board
of Directors on several occasions. He was a member of the Vestry, Christ Episcopal
Church. for many years, and served as President of
Chamber of Commerce. His other connections include Elks, Masons, charter member
of Sunnyside Country Club, member of Board of Directors of WIDA. “Man of the
Chamber of Commerce for 1965. -
He is the club’s oldest active member under the same classification--41
Dr. Edward L. Rohlf, Sr., No.22,
was President of the Waterloo Club in 1936-37. His classification was “Physician
and Surgeon.” Born at Davenport, Iowa, June 10,
1868, he came to Waterloo
in 1901 and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1920. He was the father of
Dr. Edward L. Rohlf, Jr., now a member of Waterloo
Rotary. He had almost 40 years of practice in Waterloo. He was President of Black Hawk County
Medical Association, Presbyterian
Hospital, Area Council
of Boy Scouts, and Waterloo Symphony Orchestra. He was an active physician
and surgeon in the American Army on the western front in World War I, having
been commissioned a Colonel before the close of the War. He was a member of
West Waterloo school board, Becker-Chapman Post American
Legion, Elks Club, Masons, and Knights of Pythias.
He died on March 6, 1940.
Henry O. Bernbrock, No. 23, was president of the
Waterloo Rotary Club 1937-38. His classification was “Laundry.” Born at Quincy.
Ill, Feb. 12, 1874, he came to Waterloo
in 1902 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club 1915. He was a member of the Iowa
Legislature representing the
Waterloo district and was prominently known
throughout the state of Iowa.
He was the owner and operator of the Waterloo Laundry and Dry Cleaning Company,
also the owner of many business buildings, apartments, and other real estate
holdings in the city of Waterloo.
“Bernie” was a past District Governor in 1944-45. He died in Denver, Colorado,
April 1, 1960.
Fred W. Tesmer, No. 24, was President of the Rotary
Club in 1938-39. His classification was “Casualty Insurance.” Born in North
Judson, Indiana, Jan. 20, 1896, he came to
Waterloo in 1924 and joined
Rotary Club in 1929, serving four years as Club Secretary from 1934 through
1938. A past Commander of American Legion, he served overseas in World War
I. He was prominent in civic affairs—United Appeal, Elks, Masons, American
Legion. He is well known throughout the state in insurance circles, and has
held many state offices. He is now an honorary member of the Waterloo Club.
William A. Hendry, No. 25, was President of the Waterloo Club 1939-40. His
classification was “Municipal Water Service.” Born on April 19, 1872, Roanoke, Va., he came to
Waterloo in 1920 and joined
Waterloo Rotary in 1924. He was active in Youth Movement and Boy Scouts, Isaak
Walton League, member of Waterloo Technical Society, first President of the
Past Presidents’ Club. Bill was General Superintendent of the Waterloo Municipal
Water Works for a number of years. He died on August 6, 1956.
Jack M. Logan, No.26, was President of the Waterloo Rotary Club 1940-41. His
classification was “Public School Administrator.” Born at Van
Meter, Iowa, April 24, 1891, he
came to Waterloo
in 1933 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club in 1933. Jack was the Superintendent
of the Waterloo
schools from 1933 through 1962 and Chairman of Rotary Student Loan Committee
for many years. His success as administrator of our fine public school system
was well and favorably known in educational circles throughout the Midwest. Jack contributed much to the youth of our fine
young people in the Waterloo
school system, and was always ready and willing to offer counsel and advice
to those who came to him. He is now an honorary member of the Waterloo Club.
John W. Rath, No.27,
was President of the Waterloo Club in 1941-42, and a charter member
in 1915. His classification was “Meat Packing.” Born at
Feb. 26. 1872, he came to Waterloo
in 1891. He served as President of Rath’s, 1898-1943
and Chairman of the Board, 1943-50. He was Chairman of the Board of American
Meat Institute in 1931-35, director of the National Livestock Board 1935-51.
director of the Illinois Central Railroad, director of the National Bank of
Waterloo, Chairman of the Board of Waterloo Water Works Trustees 1912 to 1932.
Chairman of Trustees, H. W. Grout Museum Trust--See “Treatise” part two. At
the time of his death on Dec. 22, 1951, he was the last surviving charter
member of the Waterloo Rotary Club.
Ben F. Swisher, No. 28, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1942-43. His
classification was “General Law Practice.” Born January 21, 1878, at Iowa City, Iowa, he came
in 1900 as a partner in the law firm of Pickett-Swisher-and Farwell. He joined
the Rotary Club in 1917. He served as City Attorney and also Black Hawk County
Attorney for several years. He was one of Waterloo’s
most famous trial lawyers. During the days of the depression, in the early
1930’s, Ben gained national attention by his appearance before the United
Sates Federal Court at Omaha, at which time he resisted the payment of the
head tax on the slaughter of little pigs, a program inaugurated in Washington
in order to reduce the supply and production of hogs. In his appearance before
the U.S. Federal Court, he won his case and returned to Waterloo with a cheek from Rath Packing Company for over $ 700,000.00 which he had taken
with him to cover the payment of the head tax in the event that the Federal
Court disallowed this claim. All of the members of the Big Four meating packing industry had paid their tax and later received
refunds because of Swisher’s victory. He was for many years a member of the
Waterloo School Board, and a member of the Board of Trustees of the Waterloo
Municipal Water Works. Ben was
the founder and one of the sponsors of the Rotary student loan
fund. This is a revolving fund which is still in existence and many high school
seniors who needed financial assistance for their college education have secured
loans from this worthwhile fund. He died January 22, 1959.
Howard M Smith, No.29, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1943-44. His
classification was “Electric Light and Power Service.” Born
at Nashua, Iowa, April 22. 1881, he first came
in 1911 and joined Rotary Club in 1930. He was known among his friends as
“Had.” He was Vice-President and Division Manager of Iowa Public Service Company.
Howard was a most casual and personable gentleman who won friends and influenced
people. He made frequent trips to Sioux City
which, at that time, was long before the advent of air service between Waterloo and Sioux City, In
preference to taking the train, he frequently took
the bus and rode from Waterloo to Des
Moines in order to make a connection on another bus to Sioux City. He enjoyed meeting
people and was well and favorably known for his philosophical attitude and
sound thinking. He was most generous in his support of all projects for the
good of the community and the welfare of its citizens. He was active in United
Appeal, graduate of Iowa
State as Electrical Engineer,
past President of Chamber of Commerce, member of Elks, Masons, Symposium and
Spokesman Club, member of Westminster Presbyterian Church. He was one of the
founders of professional baseball in Waterloo, a past President Midwest Gas Association,
a member of Board of Directors, Dairy Cattle Congress,
Vice President and Director of Iowa Public Service Company. He died on Mar,
Paul I. Adcock, No.30, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1944-45. His
classification was “Refined Oil Products Distributing.” Born at Russell, Iowa, January 4,
1898, he came to Waterloo
in 1931 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club 1932. Paul had n dynamic personality
and was well known among club members for his quick wit and humor. He was
Division Manager of the Mid-Continent Petroleum Corporation (now known as.
Sunray D-X). In later years, he had advanced to a position
of responsibility with the home office of Mid-Continent at Tulsa, Okla.
The Waterloo Rotary Club prospered in more ways than one under his fine administration.
Paul is now retired and is a resident of Tulsa, Oklahoma.
He has the Senior Active classification.
Herman C. Miller, No.31, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1945-46. His
classification was “Fire Insurance Agency.” Born at Reinbeck,
Iowa June 3, 1889, he came to Waterloo 1906 and joined
Waterloo Rotary in 1915. He was the
son of an early pioneer in the insurance field, known as “Herman Miller, Sr.”
on the west bank of Cedar River was named
in his memory, as he was a member of the Park Board for many years. Herman
C. was the father of Rotarian Jim Miller, one of our third generation Rotarians.
Herman served as President and was also a director in the Chamber of Commerce.
He was active in civic affairs, Charter Member of Sunnyside Country Club,
commissioned First Lieutenant World War 1, served overseas, Commander of Becker-Chapman
Post American Legion, also State Vice Commander in 1924, member of Elks, Masons,
and an Elder in Congregational Church for many years. He served as President,
Chamber of Commerce in 1928 and again in 1941. He died in Waterloo June 15. 1949.
William A. Dewees, No. 32, was President of the
Rotary Club in 1946-47. His classification
was “Finance—Collateral Loans.” Born at Brooklyn,
New York, Aug. 28, 1889, he came to Waterloo in 1901 and joined
Waterloo Rotary Club in 1930. He served overseas in Ambulance Corps in World
War I and was known among Rotarians as “Bill.” He was at that time local manager
of the Morris Plan Company and served as cashier of the Peoples Bank and Trust
Company at the time it was organized in 1943. Later, he was named a Vice President.
He retired December 31, 1961 and moved to California. His address is: 13541
Wentworth Lane, Apt. l08E, Seal Beach, California.
Stephen A. Cohagan, No.33, was President of the
Rotary Club in 1947-48. His classification was “Y.M.C.A.” Born at Defiance, Ia., July 11,
1885, he came to Waterloo
in 1920 and joined Rotary Club in 1920. “Co” was General Secretary of the
Y.M.C.A. for a period of more than 25 years, also serving as Secretary of
the Waterloo Rotary Club for 13 yrs.—1948 through 1960. He made an enviable
record because of his efficiency in handling of Rotary affairs. He was secretary
of Grout Museum
for 13 yrs. and was a member of Citizens’ Action Committee. See “Treatise”
part two. Was also active in the formation of the United Appeal organization
and took an active part in the planning and building of the present YMCA.
He was active and a member of Grace M. E. Church for over 40 yrs. He died
on May 1,1961.
Earl Glasson, No.34, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1948-49. His original
classification was “Abstractor.” His present classification is “Trust Officer.”
Born at Dubuque,
Iowa, Dec. 26. 1893, he
came to Waterloo
in 1915 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club in 1941. He was, for many years, president
of the Black Hawk County Abstract Co., President Chamber of Commerce in 1934,
member of School Board, United Appeal, Sunnyside Country Club, member of Board
of Directors WIDA, more than 35 yrs. a director of Perpetual Savings &
Loan, Vice President of Peoples Bank & Trust Company and Senior Trust
Officer. During the past few years, Earl has been one of Rotary’s busiest
civic leaders. See special notes under 1954 Centennial
and Citizens’ Action Committee, also copy of closing financial statement on
Herbert H. Dierenfield, No. 35, was President of
the Waterloo Club in 1949-50. His classification was that of “Protestant Churches.”
He was born on Aug. 24, 1894 at Ponca, Nebraska
and came to Waterloo
1937, joining Waterloo Rotary 1937. Herb was Pastor of First Presbyterian
for almost 25 yrs. He was recognized among our members as one of the best
golfers in the Waterloo Rotary Club. He was a man of high ideals, dignified,
and sincere in all of his activities. The Waterloo Rotary Club had one of
its best years under his fine leadership. Herb retired and moved to Costa Mesa, California,
on Aug. 1, 1961. He died on October 29, 1962 at Costa Mesa.
Charles W. Shirey, No.36, was President of the Waterloo
Club in 1950-51. His classification is “Concrete Construction.” Born at Melrose,
Iowa, Nov. 1, 1893, he came to Waterloo
in 1895 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club in 1930. He is familiarly known among
club members as “Charlie.” A graduate engineer of Iowa
State at Ames, he was a hard working, sincere President
and a dedicated Rotarian in every sense of the word. Among his activities
were past president of Waterloo School Board, director of WIDA, and a member
of the Executive Committee, has held many high offices in the construction
industry, President of both State and National Ready-Mix Concrete Associations,
Chairman of Waterloo Civil Service Board, active in Chamber of Commerce, and
member of the Board of Directors.
Paul B. Barger, No.37, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1951-52, His classification is “Agricultural Extension Service.”
Born at Audubon, Iowa,
Nov. 25, 1901, he came to Waterloo
in 1930. If the records are correct, Paul probably holds the best attendance
record over a long period of years of any member of the Waterloo Rotary Club.
He has not missed a Rotary meeting for over 30 yrs. He has been a most sincere
and dedicated Rotarian ever since he joined the Waterloo Club in 1930. He
is well and favorably known in agricultural circles throughout the state of
Iowa and has held many
high offices both at state and national levels. He also writes a weekly column
on lawn and flower care, plus publishing a new garden message five times each
Harold R. Walden, No. 38, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1952-53. His
classification was “Photographic Supplies.” Born at What Cheer, Iowa, on Jan. 31, 1904, he came to Waterloo in 1910 and joined Rotary Club in 1931.
He is known among Rotarians as “Wally.” He not only served the club in the
capacity of President but was also Secretary of the Waterloo Club for 11 yrs—
1938 through 1948. He has an enviable attendance record and has not missed
a Rotary meeting for many years. He has been very active in United Appeal,
Chamber of Commerce. Elks, WIDA, and was one of our most efficient Secretaries.
He now has a Senior Active classification.
Joe Sage, No. 39, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1953-54. Born in Waterloo, Iowa,
October 26, 1897, he joined Rotary Club in 1944. He had the classification
of “Dairy Farming” which was later changed to Senior Active. Joe gained wide
and favorable recognition throughout District 597 when he served the Waterloo
Club as President and later as District Governor. He is truly Mr. Rotary Personified.
He is a dedicated Rotarian who has faithfully attended many district conferences
as well as International conventions in all parts of the world. He has a record
covering many years without having missed a regular weekly Rotary meeting.
He preaches the four objects of Rotary wherever he goes—and he practices what
he preaches. The Waterloo Club is proud to have such an outstanding Rotary
personality as one of its members.
Glenn W. Miller. No.40, President of the Waterloo
Club in 1954-55. His classification was “Wholesale Hardware Distributing.”
Born in Waterloo, Ia,
June 4, 1900, he joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1942. Glenn is Chairman
of the Board of Directors of Cutler Hardware Company and has also been on
the Board of Directors for 16 years of the Waterloo Dairy Cattle Congress,
and at present is serving as its President. He has always been prominent in
athletic affairs and was a famous half-back on the Big Ten championship teams
at the University of Iowa
at Iowa City
in 1921 and ‘22. They were the only
undefeated and untied teams in the school’s history. He was active in civic
affairs—Chamber of Commerce, United Appeal Elks, Sunnyside Country Club, and
an ardent football fan. His present classification is Senior Active.
Lowell J. Walker, No. 41, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1955.56. Born
at Lamoni, Iowa, Feb. 27, 1910, he came to Waterloo in 1915. Lowell had the classification of “Savings Banks”
and was for a number of years President of the Waterloo Savings Bank and is
now Chairman of the Board of this fine institution. He has taken an active
part in all civic affairs for many years and was a faithful and dedicated
Rotarian who took his job seriously and had a big year as President of Rotary.
He was Chairman of United Appeal Drive, 1966 President of the Chamber of Commerce,
Sunnyside Country Club, Elks,, YMCA, and has attended
numerous district conferences and International conventions. He took an active
part in the centennial celebration 1954—see “Treatise” part two. His father,
D. J. Walker, was the founder of the Walker Remedy Co. of Waterloo and was
a member of the Waterloo Rotary Club from 1918 to 1945. Lowell now has the Senior Active classification.
Herbert G. Palmer, No.42, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1956-57. Born
at Grinnell, Iowa,
Apr. 21, 1897, he came to Waterloo
in 1924 and joined the Waterloo Rotary Club in 1937. He had the classification
of “Creamery and Dairy Equipment” for many years and was General Manager of
the Creamery Package Manufacturing Company up until the time of his retirement. Has been active in church,
United Appeal, and Chamber of Commerce. He now has the classification
of Senior Active and is Club Secretary, having creditably filled this office
William H. Hinson, No.43, was President of Waterloo Rotary Club in 1957-58.
His classification was “Cotton Goods, Manufacturing.” Born at Cincinnati,
Ohio, Sept. 16, 1915, he came to Waterloo in 1917 and joined
the Rotary Club 1941. He is President of Hinson Manufacturing Company.
Has contributed liberally to the growth and development
of Waterloo both industry-wise and culturally.
He was President of Civic Music Association and has generously supported the
Waterloo Symphony and other civic projects for many years. He is a member
of Sunnyside Country Club, Chamber of Commerce, Elks and Masons. He now has
the Senior Active classification.
J. Miller, No.44, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1958-59 and has the
classification of “Baking Goods, Wholesale.” Born in Waterloo,
Iowa, Aug. 25, 1901, he joined
Rotary in 1944. He is an Executive Officer of the Altstadt
and Langlas Baking Company. He has attended a large
number of district conferences and several International Conventions. Harold
has an excellent attendance record and has been active in the Chamber of Commerce
and United Appeal.
Fred B. Miller, No.45, was President of the Waterloo Club in 1959-60. His
classification was that of “Religious Education.” Born at
Moberly. Mo. October 24. 1903, he came to Waterloo 1950 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club
1950. He was Pastor of the First
for many years and is now District Superintendent. On July 1, 1966, he assumes
the position of Executive Assistant to Bishop Thomas at Des Moines. Fred was well known among members
of the Waterloo Rotary Club for his quick wit and ability to preside over
the Waterloo Club with dignity but mixed with a sense of good humor. Now he
has Senior Active classification.
Walter E. Betsworth, No. 46, was President of the
Waterloo Club 1960-61. His classification is “Airport Management.” Born at
Sioux City, Iowa, May 11,
1900, he came to Waterloo
1948 and joined Waterloo Rotary Club in 1948. The Waterloo Rotary Club prospered
under his progressive administration with a good attendance record. an increase in membership, and a balanced budget. He has also
been largely responsible for the growth and development of the Waterloo Municipal
Airport, which is known as one of
the finest in the Middle West. He is active
in church work, United Appeal, and is a member of Chamber of Commerce.
Robert W. Petersen, No. 47, President of the Waterloo Club in 1961-62. Born at Minneapolis, Minnesota,
Sept. 26, 1925, he
came to Waterloo
in 1951 and joined Waterloo Rotary 1955. “Bob” has the classification of “Petroleum-Lubricants”
and is President of Northland Products Company which concern enjoys a very
fine reputation and does a large volume of business in the northeastern territory.
Through his untiring efforts, the Waterloo Club had a very fine year under
his guidance. He is one of the “Red Jacket” goodwill ambassadors of the Junior
Chamber of Commerce and is active in United Appeal, Elks, and Sunnyside. He
is a member of WIDA Board of Directors.
Max W. Miller, No.48, President of the Waterloo
Club in 1962-63. His classification was “Y.M.C.A. Direetor.”
Born in Orange Twp., Waterloo,
Iowa, on Jan. 6, 1903, he joined
Waterloo Rotary in 1947. Max was the brother of one of our other Presidents,
Glenn W. Miller. Unfortunately he became seriously ill and passed away after
presiding as President over the Waterloo Club for a period of about six months.
Donald M. Graham, No. 49, President of the Waterloo Club in 1963-64. His classification
is “Land Development.” Born in Waterloo,
Iowa, Nov. 10, 1904, he joined
the Rotary Club 1940. Don not only
filled out the unexpired term of Max Miller, but also presided over our club
for the full Rotary year of 1963-64. Don is the son of James M. Graham and
enjoys the distinction of having served as President longer than any other
man in the Club’s 51-year history. He was active in United Appeal, Chamber
of Commerce, Elks Club and Sunnyside Country Club. He has served as Director
of Black Hawk Broadcasting Company (KWWL radio and TV), Director of The National
Bank, and member of Waterloo Real Estate Board. Don was a star football player
at the University
of Iowa and holds the
record for the longest punt in Big Ten history.
Warren A. Downs, No.50, was President of the ‘Waterloo Club in 1964-65. Warren’s classification was
“General Merchandise, Retail.” Born at Downs,
Ill, Aug. 23, 1909, he came to Waterloo 1951 and joined
Waterloo Rotary in 1951. For many years
he has successfully guided the Waterloo
operation of Sears, Roebuck and Company. Through his efficient and untiring
efforts the Waterloo Club had one of its best years. He was active in United
Appeal, Chamber of Commerce, Elks, Sunnyside Country Club, and WIDA Board
Peter Olesen, No. 51, is President of the Waterloo
Club in 1965-66. His classification is “General Contracting.” Born at Waterloo, Iowa,
July 21, 1902, he joined Waterloo Rotary in 1950. Known to all Rotarians as
“Pete,” he is Chairman of the Board of Jens Olesen
& Sons Construction Company. This fine firm has contributed much to the
growth and development of Waterloo
through the construction of some of our largest public buildings, manufacturing
plants, and other industrial institutions. “Pete” has held many high offices
in the construction industry—past President A.G.C. Builders Group for State
of Iowa and Master Builders
Assn. He has also been President of Danish Mutual Insurance Company of Cedar Falls, member of Executive
Committee of WIDA, member Iowa Employment Safety Commission, Chamber of Commerce,
Sunnyside Country Club, Elks, Masons, and Vice President, Peoples Bank and
If I have omitted anything of interest in the year of the administration of
any of our past Presidents, it has been a mistake of the head and not of the
heart. –Fred D. Adams,
1966-67 Wirt P. Hoxie
1967-68 Don J. Lohnes
1968-69 Robert Ruisch
1969-70 Lyle Cherry
1970 Tom Young
1970-71 James S. Newman
1971-72 Steve Showers
1972-73 Stuart Sears
1973-74 James Freshwaters
1974-75 Russ Gerard
1975-76 Ed Paulsen
1976-77 Craig Shirey
1977-78 Harry Neiman
1978-79 Edward Wilson
1979-80 Chuck Swisher
1980-81 Herb Williams
1981-82 Ivan Warm
1982-83 Syd Thomas
1983-84 Greg Gutgsell
1984-85 Lew Harned
1985-86 Roger Olesen
I was elected President, John Deere pulled all active members from the club.
Our club had about 20 Deere members. We developed a plan to sign up more members
by determining the average age of our members, and the young members competed
with the older members for attracting the most new members to the club. The
prize was a steak lunch for the winners. At that time we met in Black's Tea Room At the annual picnic the results were released
and we had a tie-so we all had steak.
year was about the last year where we had an employee living in a house at
the reserve. This man actually worked for a neighboring farmer who, in turn,
brought his tractor loader in before each event at the reserve and leveled
the entry. Our site manager also took down all of the
picnic tables and stored them on the porch of the old building.
had a bad wind storm that blew down three of the large cottonwood trees. We
got volunteer workers from the county and with the help of our site manager
we cut up all of the downed trees and cut them into fire wood which we sold
to the public. A past president went to the reserve after the clean up and
told the membership that there was no damage to the reserve. I told him I
wish he had seen the mess before it was cleaned up.
was the last year of men only in Rotary, and we all welcomed the first ladies
who joined our club.
was pleased to have been one of two father-son presidents of Rotary. The other
was Craig Shirey.
passed the hat twice that I recall. The first time it was to raise money for
a new well to be drilled in an eastern country where people had to walk over
3 miles to get water and the second time was in support of the Salvation Army
to provide food for their annual Christmas dinner.
attained all of the requirements set up by the District Governor as goals
for all the clubs in our district and we received a document that we had made
the list of those so honored.
started the year with 231 members and ended with 248. I am still proud of
the goals achieved by the club and am still pleased to be an active member
of the Waterloo Rotary Club.
(signed) Roger P. Olesen
1986-87 Dave Buck
1987-88 Hovey Brom
1988-89 David Sparks
1989-90 Larry Reed
1990-91 Robert Bradford
1991 -92 Rick Morris
1992-93 John Beecher
1993-94 Tom Watt
1994-95 Jerry Trangsrud
1995-96 Larry Winninger
1996-97 Frank Seng
1997-98 Tim Skahill
1998-99 Jerry Stevens
1999-00 Kathy Braun
2000-01 Kevin McCrindle
2001 -02 Steve Thorpe
2002-03 John Bunge
2003-04 Michelle Weidner
2004-05 Steven J. Schmitt
2005-07 Steve Sinnott
2007-08 Art Cox
2008-09 Mason Fromm
2009-10 Steve Carignan
2010-11 Amber Jedlicka
2011-12 Todd Wordel
2012-13 Jeff Halverson
2013-14 Harrison Cass