Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2011 Athletic Awards

     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.

 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2011

Zinca Duric - West High School

Presenting Zinca's award is Waterloo Rotary President Todd Wordel

19th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Columbus High School - Jeff Frost, Director of Education, Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks Athletic Director



Don Bosco High School - Eric Eckerman, Principal, Jane Becker, Athletic Director

East High School - Dr. Willie Barney, Principal, Todd Coulter, Athletic Director

Waterloo Christian School- Lisa Goedken, Principal,  Tyson Roberts, Athletic Director

West High School - Dr. Gail Callahan, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

Keynote Speaker
Bre Payton - UNI Panther Volleyball


2010 MVC Player of the Year
Link to Bre's biography on

Columbus High School MVP - Sarah Peterson



Head Coach: Kenny Frost
Assistant Coaches: Dan Duggan, Bryan Duggan
Alexis Hellman, Paige Westphal, Emma Frederick, Abby McNamee, Sarah Peterson, Maddie Morehouse

Don Bosco High School MVP - Haley Luckroth



Head Coach: Kerry Merrifield
Assistant Coaches: Jenni Schares, Heather Gutknecht
April Fox, Haley Luckeroth, Elly Reiter,
Molly Schares, LeAnn Weber

East High School MVP - Kesley Rash



Head Coach: Malcolm Cleope
Assistant Coaches: Michael Tweedt, Will Cleope
Rachele Kindschi, Brianna Magnuson, Heather O'Brien,
Kesley Rash, Jaclyn Riggins, Aly Schultz

Waterloo Christian School MVP - Cally Reed



Head Coach: Julia Taylor
Assistant Coach: Kristina Day, Hannah Bro
Elizabeth Pakala, Cally Reed

West High School MVP - Zinka Duric



Head Coach: David Hirsch
Assistant Coach: Rachael Woodley
Kaitlyn Allen, Phoenix Wittenberg, Brie Jackson, Celia Guyer, Zinka Duric

Special thanks to the 2011 Rotary Volleyball Committee: Julie Hayes, Marty Stoakes, Soo Greiman, Kelli McCarthy, Barb Prather.  
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and for webpage.
Special thanks to Rotarian Roger Oelsen who donates the MVP plaque.

Back to Volleyball Honors