Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2012 Athletic Awards

     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.

 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2012

Ashlee Sinnott - Columbus High School

Presenting the award is Waterloo Rotary President Marty Stoakes

20th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Columbus High School - Jeff Frost, Director of Education, Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks Athletic Director

Don Bosco High School - Eric Eckerman, Principal, Tom Hogan, Athletic Director

East High School - Maria Padget, Principal, Al Pace, Athletic Director

Waterloo Christian School- Lisa Goedken, Principal,  Tyson Roberts, Athletic Director

West High School - Dr. Leslie Morris, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

Valley Lutheran High School - Glenn Rollins, Principal

Keynote Speaker
Dr. Iradge Ahrabi-Fard - Former UNI Volleyball Hread Coach

Columbus High School MVP - Ashlee Sinnott

Head Coach: Kenny Frost - Assistant Coaches: Amy Kimball, Dan Duggan, Bryan Duggan
Assistant Coach: Dan Duggan, Bryan Duggan
Liza Cutsforth, Grace Olmstead, Allison Dahlhauser, Sam Benson, Ashley Sinnott, Megan Harn, Anne Hansen

Don Bosco High School MVP - Karlie Welter

Co-Head Coaches: Jenny Schares, Abby Breitbach - Assistant Coach: Kayla Kremer
Karlie Welter, Olivia Rigdon, Kate Paulsen

East High School MVP - Katelyn Kinnetz

Head Coach: Roger Goldsberry - Assistant Coaches: Michael Tweedt, Jackie Riggins
Shakari Baker-Bruce, Mary Carroll, Camilla Haereid, Aleigha Horn, Katelyn Kinnetz,
Gabby Larson, Shavia Mays, Alison Nichols, Lindsay Rolison, Parys Smith-Walker,
Autumn Thein, Meghan Thompson, Jaylin Tisue, Katie Werner, Keona Williams, Kenzi Wroe

Waterloo Christian School MVP - Emily Wynthein

Head Coach: Carmen Wipf - Assistant Coaches: Danielle Schoonhoven, Hannah Bro
Emily Wynthein, Carissa Collins

West High School MVP - Callie Cooley

Head Coach: Brian Girsch - Assistant Coach: Mikayla Sims
Brooke Neymeyer, Meghan Payne, Tyra Bell, Callie Cooley, Amanda Le, Hannah Swartzendruber

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Violet Collins

Head Coach: Brittany Newton - Assistant Coach: Lucas Tanney
Violet Collins

Special thanks to the 2012 Rotary Volleyball Committee: Julie Hayes, Soo Greiman, Kelli McCarthy, Barb Prather.  
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and for webpage.
Special thanks to Rotarian Roger Oelsen who donates the MVP plaque.

Back to Volleyball Honors