Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2014 Athletic Awards

     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.

 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2014

Brooke Craig, Columbus High School

Presenting the award is Waterloo Rotary Volleyball Luncheon Chairperson Barb Prather

22nd Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon

Honored Guests

Dr. Jane Lindaman, Superintendent of Schools

Columbus High School - Dale Monroe, Chief Administrator, Tom Ulses, Principal, Aaron Ferrie, Athletic Director

Don Bosco High School - Rick Blackwell, Principal, Casey Redmond, Athletic Director

East High School - Maria Padget, Principal, Al Pace, Athletic Director

Waterloo Christian School - Lisa Goedken, Principal,  Tyson Roberts & Dave Liverance, Co-Athletic Directors

West High School - Dr. Leslie Morris, Principal, Dr. Anthony Pappas, Athletic Director

Valley Lutheran High School - Glenn Rollins, Principal, Ehren Simmer, Athletic Director

Columbus High School MVP - Brooke Craig


Head Coach: Amy Kimball, Assistant Coaches: Dan Duggan, Bryan Duggan
Brooke Craig, Emma Shannon

Don Bosco High School MVP - Shannon Havel


Head Coach: Abby Breitbach, Assistant Coaches: Kayla Kremer, Jenny Schares
Shannon Havel

East High School MVP - Latece Buford

Head Coach: Meghan Sullivan, Assistant Coach: Michael Tweedt
Latece Buford, Tru Robinson, Amari Williams

Waterloo Christian School MVP - Maddy Sullivan

Head Coach: Hannah Bro, Assistant Coach: Danielle Schoonhoven
Annabelle Davis, Elizabeth Deeds, Deanna Reed, Maddy Sullivan

West High School MVP - Danesha Crowley

Head Coach: Allyson George, Assistant Coach: Aaron Rhinehart
Alissa Broten, Danesha Cowley, Haley Jones

Valley Lutheran High School MVP - Abby Galle

Head Coach: Angela Reisdorph Assistant Coach: Chris Martin
Abby Galle, Megan Galle

Special thanks to the Rotary Volleyball Committee:
Julie Hayes, Emcee John Bunge, Barb Prather, Soo Greiman and Kelli McCarthy.  
Thanks to Mason Fromm for photography and for webpage.
Special thanks to Rotarian Roger Oelsen who donates the MVP plaque.

Back to Volleyball Honors