Downtown Waterloo Rotary Club

2008 Athletic Awards

     Since 1936 the Waterloo Rotary Club has enjoyed the honor each year to celebrate outstanding performance by high school athletes in the city of Waterloo and surrounding areas. Football coaching staffs at each school in the city nominate a senior MVP from their team. In a secret ballot, area sportswriters make the citywide selection. The winner receives the Glen "Doc" Miller traveling trophy as top player in his sport. In a similar process, area volleyball coaches choose their MVP's and then, by ballot of all the coaches, award the trophy for overall Most Valuable volleyball player. The winners are entitled to display the trophy at his or her school for the next twelve months.

 Rotary Most Valuable Volleyball Player of 2008

Lauren Friedman - Columbus High School

Presenting Lauren's award is Rotary Volleyball Luncheon Committee Co-Chair, Marty Stokes

16th Annual Waterloo Rotary Club Volleyball Recognition Luncheon

Honored Guests

Dr. Gary Norris, Superintendent of Schools

Denise Schares, Assoc. Superintendant for Educational & Student Services

Cora Turner, Director of Student Services

Columbus High School - Cathy Walz, Director of Education, Tom Ulses, Principal, Aundra Meeks Athletic Director



Don Bosco High School - Eric Smith, Principal, Jane Becker, Athletic Director

East High School - Dr. Willie Barney, Principal, Brenton Shavers, Athletic Director

Walnut Ridge Baptist Academy - Kerry Watkins, Superintendent,
Lisa Goedken, Principal,  Todd Kuntz, Athletic Director

West High School - Dr. Gail Moon, Principal, Jeff Frost, Athletic Director

2008 MVP Volleyball Selections

Lauren Friedman, Columbus - Samantha Frost, Don Bosco - Amanda Magnuson, East - Katie Wynthein, Walnut Ridge - Charmin Anderson, West

Columbus High School

Lauren Freidman, MVP for Columbus High, Rotary Volleyball Luncheon Committee Co-Chair, Julie Hayes

Don Bosco High School

Rotary Volleyball Luncheon Committee Co-Chair, Julie Hayes, Samantha Frost, MVP for Don Bosco

East High School

Rotary Volleyball Luncheon Committee Co-Chair, Julie Hayes, Amanda Magnuson, MVP for East High

Walnut Ridge Baptist Academy

Katie Wynthein, MVP for Walnut Ridge Baptist Academy

West High School


Rotary Volleyball Luncheon Committee Co-Chair, Julie Hayes, Charmin Anderson, MVP for West High

Special thanks to the 2008 Rotary Volleyball Committee: Julie Hayes, Gregg Humble, Marty Stoakes, Frank Esser, Barb Prather.   Thanks to Mike Walden for all photographs,
and Mason Fromm for webpage.

Back to Volleyball Honors